26 and 27 October 2018, Bangalore
Status: Accepting votes

About the conference: JSFoo is a JavaScript conference hosted by HasGeek.

Commitment to open source

HasGeek believes in open source as the binding force of our community. If you are describing a codebase for developers to work with, we’d like for it to be available under a permissive open source licence. If your software is commercially licensed or available under a combination of commercial and restrictive open source licences (such as the various forms of the GPL), please consider picking up a sponsorship. We recognise that there are valid reasons for commercial licensing, but ask that you support us in return for giving you an audience. Your session will be marked on the schedule as a “sponsored session”.

Selection process

Proposals will be filtered and shortlisted by an Editorial Panel.

Make sure to add links to videos / slide decks when submitting proposals. We will not review proposals without detailed outlines or slide decks and preview videos.

The first filter for every proposal is whether the technology or solution you are referring to is open source or not. If you are referring to a proprietary technology, consider picking up a sponsored session.

The criteria for selecting proposals, in the order of importance, are:

  1. Key insight or takeaway: what can you share with participants that will help them in their work and in thinking about the problem?
  2. Structure of the talk and flow of content: a detailed outline helps us understand the focus of the talk, and the clarity of your thought process.
  3. Ability to communicate succinctly, and how you engage with the audience. You must submit link to a two-minute preview video explaining what your talk is about, and what is the key takeaway for the audience.

No one submits the perfect proposal in the first instance. We therefore encourage you to:

  1. Submit your proposal early so that we have more time to iterate if the proposal has potential.
  2. Talk to us on our community Slack channel: https://friends.hasgeek.com if you want to discuss an idea for your proposal, and need help / advice on how to structure it.

Our editorial team also helps potential speakers in honing their speaking skills, and rehearsing at least twice - before the main conference - to sharpen the focus of talks.

Contact

For more information about speaking proposals, contact jsfoo.editorial@hasgeek.com.
For tickets and sponsorships, contact info@hasgeek.com or call +91-7676332020.

Confirmed sessions


Unconfirmed proposals

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Javascript type systems - a land of surprises  
Abhishek Yadav (@zerothabhishek) Crisp Talk Intermediate 2 0 Thu, 31 May
2 Why GraphQL: A React Developer's Perspective  
Praveen Durairaj (@praveenweb) Full Talk Intermediate 7 0 Thu, 31 May
3 Top 3 Security concerns in the JS World: Weak Crypto, Malicious Code Execution and Sensitive Data Leakage  
Lavakumar Kuppan (@lavakumark) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Thu, 31 May
4 MySQL 8 loves JavaScript
sanjay_manwani (@manwanis) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Thu, 31 May
5 Markerless Augmented Reality using three.js  
Pulkit Juneja (@pulkitjuneja) Workshop Intermediate 8 0 Thu, 31 May
6 Hybrid Apps from a Ember/Vue/React PWA
Mark Grundy (@markgrundy) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 30 May
7 One Code to Rule Them All - Developing Native Android / iOS app + Web App with one common codebase
Shyam Seshadri (@shyamseshadri) Full Talk Advanced 2 0 Wed, 30 May
8 React meets Angular - Using React components inside your Angular apps.
Anirudh Varma (@anirudhvarma12) Full Talk Intermediate 2 0 Tue, 29 May
9 Change Detection in Frameworks  
Jithin Nair (@jithinnair) Full Talk Intermediate 7 0 Fri, 25 May
10 Writing testable Ethereum Smart Contracts and Decentralized Apps with NodeJS  
Srimathi H (@shrimats) Workshop Beginner 1 0 Wed, 23 May
11 Handling Angular 2+ Forms Without Losing Your Sanity
Jennifer Wadella (@jenniferwadella) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Tue, 22 May
12 Mining crypto in browser: WebWorkers, GPU, WebAssembly and all the good things to try
Denis Radin (@denisradin) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Tue, 22 May
13 No more Electron: Native desktop applications using Javascript
Jishnu (@jishnu7) Crisp Talk Beginner 3 0 Tue, 22 May
14 Saving Millions Using MicroInteractions  
aayush arora (@aayusharora) Full Talk Intermediate 7 0 Sat, 19 May
15 Learn secure web development using Damn Vulnerable NodeJS Application
Subash SN (@pingsns) Workshop Intermediate 2 0 Thu, 17 May
16 The Best ReactJS Starter Project ?
Jaikanth Kumaran (@jaikant) Full Talk Intermediate 18 0 Wed, 16 May
17 Bring your own App to Ionic workshop
Vijay Dharap (@dharapvj) Workshop Intermediate 1 0 Sun, 6 May
18 Curious Case of Ionic4
Vijay Dharap (@dharapvj) Full Talk Beginner 2 0 Sun, 6 May
19 Break MORE Things?!?  
Karim Alibhai (@karimsa) Full Talk Intermediate 3 0 Tue, 1 May
20 Building React Native
Parashuram (@axemclion1) Full Talk Intermediate 2 1 Tue, 24 Apr
21 The Progressive Framework  
Rahul Kadyan (@rahulkadyan) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Tue, 24 Apr
22 Debugging JS - Leveraging the power of Browser Dev Tools    
Madhur Maloo (@maloomadhur) Crisp Talk Beginner 1 0 Tue, 24 Apr
23 Demystifying dark art of SFC compilation
Rahul Kadyan (@rahulkadyan) Full Talk Advanced 1 2 Tue, 24 Apr
24 Create cross framework Components using Angular Elements
Dhananjay Kumar (@debugmode) Full Talk Advanced 8 1 Tue, 24 Apr
25 Deep Dive Angular Components
Dhananjay Kumar (@debugmode) Full Talk Advanced 6 4 Tue, 24 Apr
26 Simplifying Component Communication in Angular  
Dhananjay Kumar (@debugmode) Full Talk Beginner 11 4 Tue, 24 Apr
27 Let your source code live longer
Anenth Vishnu (@anenthv) Crisp Talk Intermediate 1 1 Sun, 22 Apr
28 Super charge your development with visual components  
Anenth Vishnu (@anenthv) Crisp Talk Intermediate 1 2 Sat, 21 Apr
29 GraphQL - A new API query language  
Ashwin Maruti Hegde (@hegdeashwin) Full Talk Intermediate 13 4 Sat, 21 Apr
30 Machine Learning on Browser using TensorFlow.js  
Girimurugan Natarajan (@girimurugan) Full Talk Intermediate 2 0 Fri, 20 Apr
31 Use IoT sensors + TensorFlow + RxJS + your hands to control the Angular app
Bartosz Pietrucha (@pietrucha) Full Talk Intermediate 1 1 Thu, 19 Apr
32 Forming Forms with Angular    
aayush arora (@aayusharora) Full Talk Intermediate 2 0 Wed, 18 Apr
33 Why you need to build your own boilerplate (react+express+webpack)?  
Rahul Rana (@rahul95) Full Talk Intermediate -1 2 Mon, 16 Apr
34 The Journey of Code Sandbox  
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@siddharthkp) (proposing) Crisp Talk Beginner 1 2 Sat, 14 Apr
35 The Curious case of the Monorepo
Andrew Bestbier (@andrewbestbier) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 11 Apr
36 We need to talk.. about testing!
Aakash N S (@aakashns) Full Talk Intermediate 1 0 Fri, 30 Mar
37 Docker for JavaScript Developers    
Hayden Braxton (@haydenbr) Workshop Beginner 3 0 Fri, 30 Mar
38 Don't npm install    
Hayden Braxton (@haydenbr) Full Talk Advanced 2 0 Fri, 30 Mar
39 You do not know about JavaScript Objects  
Dhananjay Kumar (@debugmode) Full Talk Intermediate 16 2 Thu, 29 Mar
40 Understanding client side routing, with Vue.js
Hassan Djirdeh (@djirdehh) Full Talk Beginner 1 0 Tue, 20 Mar
41 How to stay sane while managing complex state, in Vue.js  
Hassan Djirdeh (@djirdehh) Full Talk Beginner 1 0 Tue, 20 Mar
42 How to use virtual DOM without react/vue/angular
Nagaraju Sangam (@nasangam) Full Talk Intermediate 1 1 Sat, 17 Mar
43 Cross browser extensions - lets make one  
Trishul Goel (@trishul) Full Talk Intermediate 2 0 Tue, 13 Mar
44 jQuery: To Do or Not To Do  
Saptak Sengupta (@saptaks) Full Talk Intermediate 1 1 Fri, 9 Mar
45 Performance Metrics For Modern Apps    
Shubham Jindal (@skjindal93) Full Talk Intermediate 31 2 Mon, 5 Mar
46 The State of Functional Programming Languages for Web Development
Prasenjit Sharan (@ps1618) Full Talk Intermediate 8 0 Mon, 26 Feb
47 Deep Dive into JavaScript Frameworks
Abhishek Gupta (@abhishek971) Intermediate 4 2 Mon, 26 Feb
48 Nodejs Application Test Automation – Simplified
Abhinav Shroff (@abhinavshroff) Beginner 1 1 Mon, 26 Feb
49 WEBASSEMBLY DEMYSTIFIED
Jay Phelps (@jayphelps) Intermediate 3 1 Sun, 25 Feb
50 Building Robust Web Applications With RxJS
Tracy Lee (@ladyleet) Intermediate 1 0 Sun, 25 Feb
51 Managing application state without losing hair
Tracy Lee (@ladyleet) Intermediate 2 0 Sun, 25 Feb
52 Reactive Programming Demystified: Drink the Kool-Aid
Tracy Lee (@ladyleet) Intermediate 2 0 Sun, 25 Feb
53 Sweet Web Animations API  
Rodolfo Dias (@rmdias29) Intermediate 3 0 Sun, 25 Feb
54 Tearing down & exploring - RsJS
Mayank Raj (@rajmayank) Advanced 1 1 Thu, 22 Feb
55 Your Next Game - Built by React
Eyal Eizenberg (@eyaleizenberg) Beginner 1 1 Sun, 18 Feb
56 New kids in the Browserland.  
Sachin Chopra (@sach11) Crisp Talk Intermediate 1 1 Sun, 18 Feb
57 Serverless is the new black
Lucas Ceballos (@lucasceballos) Advanced 2 0 Sun, 18 Feb
58 How to Write a Compass Plugin  
anna herlihy (@aherlihy) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 14 Feb
59 New Modularity in JS : ES Modules  
Varun Gupta (@tech4gt) Full Talk Intermediate 5 3 Mon, 12 Feb
60 Hey Alexa, let's build an Alexa Skill using Nodejs    
Mukul jain (@mukuljain) Full Talk Intermediate 2 3 Mon, 12 Feb
61 Just make sure you don't have a form    
Aparna Vaikuntam (@aparna-v) Full Talk Intermediate 1 4 Mon, 5 Feb
62 How to Deploy Your React Application While Saving Time and Energy
Rizchel Dayao (@rizcheldayao) Beginner 2 1 Wed, 31 Jan
63 Scalable Angular Architecture
Bartosz Pietrucha (@pietrucha) Intermediate 6 3 Sun, 28 Jan
64 An intro to WebAssembly - JavaScript on nitro!!
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 2 1 Thu, 25 Jan
65 Is Type safety really needed in JavaScript?
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 3 1 Thu, 25 Jan
66 Reusing Components between Angular, React, Vue, Ember and Web-Components
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 3 1 Thu, 25 Jan
67 Web Workers : A solution for faster web
Ritesh Kumar (@ritz078) Full Talk Intermediate 15 1 Mon, 22 Jan
68 Building Offline Apps for the Next Billion Users  
Christian Nwamba (@codebeast) Intermediate 4 0 Wed, 17 Jan
69 Pixel shaders based UI components + mini workshop let`s write your first pixel shader    
Denis Radin Intermediate 2 0 Fri, 12 Jan
70 JavaScript + MIDI + Microcontroller Workshop  
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 3 Jan
71 (Math.random()*9)+1 Facts on Random Numbers & JavaScript
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 4 0 Wed, 3 Jan
72 neonious one / JavaScript for IoT
Thomas Rogg (@trogg) Intermediate 3 0 Wed, 3 Jan
73 Breaking Down Your Web App    
Patrick Hund (@wiekatz) Full Talk Intermediate 10 0 Tue, 2 Jan
74 Rethink Async
Hemanth.HM (@hemanth) Advanced 10 1 Fri, 29 Dec
75 How to sort your socks using Javascript    
Claudia Hernández (@koste4) Intermediate 4 0 Tue, 19 Dec
76 You might not need a native app for this!
Sam Bellen (@sambego) Beginner 5 0 Tue, 12 Dec
77 Channel your inner rockstar with the web audio API.  
Sam Bellen (@sambego) Intermediate 1 0 Tue, 12 Dec
78 Thinking Reactively with RxJS
Mayank Raj (@rajmayank) Intermediate 2 1 Tue, 12 Dec
79 JavaScript for Artists
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 3 0 Mon, 27 Nov
80 Closure vs. Prototype: Getting the best of both  
Di Wu (@dwu185) Intermediate 4 0 Sun, 12 Nov
81 Building Alexa Skills with Node.js  
Taylor Lovett (@tlovett1) Full Talk Intermediate 3 0 Sun, 12 Nov
82 Hybrid Apps from a Ember/Vue/React PWA with corber
Alexander Blom (@alexblom) Intermediate 3 0 Thu, 2 Nov
83 bring your hardware to the web!
Patrick Kettner (@patrickkettner) Intermediate 3 0 Wed, 1 Nov
84 APIs Strike back : The rise of the JSON Web Tokens  
Md. Shahbaz Alam (@mdsbzalam) Intermediate 3 1 Sat, 21 Oct
85 Reactive programming with Observables
Purnima Nagpal (@purnimanagpal) Intermediate 2 2 Fri, 20 Oct
86 Writing a Babel codemod plugin
Sarup Banskota (@sarupbanskota) Intermediate 2 1 Fri, 6 Oct