Sept 2018, Bangalore
Status: Accepting submissions

About the conference: JSFoo is a JavaScript conference hosted by HasGeek.

Commitment to open source

HasGeek believes in open source as the binding force of our community. If you are describing a codebase for developers to work with, we’d like for it to be available under a permissive open source licence. If your software is commercially licensed or available under a combination of commercial and restrictive open source licences (such as the various forms of the GPL), please consider picking up a sponsorship. We recognise that there are valid reasons for commercial licensing, but ask that you support us in return for giving you an audience. Your session will be marked on the schedule as a “sponsored session”.

Selection process

Proposals will be filtered and shortlisted by an Editorial Panel.

Make sure to add links to videos / slide decks when submitting proposals. We will not review proposals without detailed outlines or slide decks and preview videos.

The first filter for every proposal is whether the technology or solution you are referring to is open source or not. If you are referring to a proprietary technology, consider picking up a sponsored session.

The criteria for selecting proposals, in the order of importance, are:

  1. Key insight or takeaway: what can you share with participants that will help them in their work and in thinking about the problem?
  2. Structure of the talk and flow of content: a detailed outline helps us understand the focus of the talk, and the clarity of your thought process.
  3. Ability to communicate succinctly, and how you engage with the audience. You must submit link to a two-minute preview video explaining what your talk is about, and what is the key takeaway for the audience.

No one submits the perfect proposal in the first instance. We therefore encourage you to:

  1. Submit your proposal early so that we have more time to iterate if the proposal has potential.
  2. Talk to us on our community Slack channel: https://friends.hasgeek.com if you want to discuss an idea for your proposal, and need help / advice on how to structure it.

Our editorial team also helps potential speakers in honing their speaking skills, and rehearsing at least twice - before the main conference - to sharpen the focus of talks.

Contact

For more information about speaking proposals, contact jsfoo.editorial@hasgeek.com.
For tickets and sponsorships, contact info@hasgeek.com or call +91-7676332020.

Propose a session

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Your Next Game - Built by React
Eyal Eizenberg (@eyaleizenberg) Beginner 1 1 Sun, 18 Feb
2 New kids in the Browserland.
Sachin Chopra (@sach11) Intermediate 1 0 Sun, 18 Feb
3 Serverless is the new black
Lucas Ceballos (@lucasceballos) Advanced 1 0 Sun, 18 Feb
4 How to Life-Proof Your Live Demo
anna herlihy (@aherlihy) Beginner 1 0 Wed, 14 Feb
5 How to Write a Compass Plugin  
anna herlihy (@aherlihy) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 14 Feb
6 Revisiting Modularity in Node.js : ES Modules
Varun Gupta (@tech4gt) Intermediate 3 0 Mon, 12 Feb
7 Hey Alexa, let's build an Alexa Skill using Nodejs
Mukul jain (@mukuljain) Intermediate 2 0 Mon, 12 Feb
8 Form building made easy with Ember  
Aparna Vaikuntam (@aparna-v) Intermediate 0 0 Mon, 5 Feb
9 Authentication done right: Consuming (and Serving) Oauth2.0
Arnav Gupta (@championswimmer) Advanced 6 0 Fri, 2 Feb
10 How to Deploy Your React Application While Saving Time and Energy
Rizchel Dayao (@rizcheldayao) Beginner 1 0 Wed, 31 Jan
11 Scalable Angular Architecture
Bartosz Pietrucha (@pietrucha) Intermediate 2 0 Sun, 28 Jan
12 An intro to WebAssembly - JavaScript on nitro!!
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 2 0 Thu, 25 Jan
13 Is Type safety really needed in JavaScript?
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 2 0 Thu, 25 Jan
14 Reusing Components between Angular, React, Vue, Ember and Web-Components
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Advanced 2 0 Thu, 25 Jan
15 Web Workers : A solution for faster web
Ritesh Kumar (@ritz078) Intermediate 10 0 Mon, 22 Jan
16 Building Offline Apps for the Next Billion Users  
Christian Nwamba (@codebeast) Intermediate 2 0 Wed, 17 Jan
17 Pixel shaders based UI components + mini workshop let`s write your first pixel shader    
Denis Radin Intermediate 2 0 Fri, 12 Jan
18 Destigmatizing Open Source Through Lessons in Mental Health
Julia Nguyen (@fleurchild) Beginner 0 0 Thu, 11 Jan
19 The Common Patterns of React Components
Pavan Podila (@pavanpodila) Intermediate 4 0 Wed, 10 Jan
20 React + D3
Nitesh Tiwari (@nitte93) Intermediate 4 0 Wed, 10 Jan
21 JavaScript + MIDI + Microcontroller Workshop  
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 3 Jan
22 (Math.random()*9)+1 Facts on Random Numbers & JavaScript
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 2 0 Wed, 3 Jan
23 neonious one / JavaScript for IoT
Thomas Rogg (@trogg) Intermediate 3 0 Wed, 3 Jan
24 Breaking Down Your Web App
Patrick Hund (@wiekatz) Advanced 8 0 Tue, 2 Jan
25 Rethink Async
Hemanth.HM (@hemanth) Advanced 7 0 Fri, 29 Dec
26 How to sort your socks using Javascript    
Claudia Hernández (@koste4) Intermediate 3 0 Tue, 19 Dec
27 You might not need a native app for this!
Sam Bellen (@sambego) Beginner 4 0 Tue, 12 Dec
28 Channel your inner rockstar with the web audio API.  
Sam Bellen (@sambego) Intermediate 1 0 Tue, 12 Dec
29 Thinking Reactively with RxJS
Mayank Raj (@rajmayank) Intermediate 2 0 Tue, 12 Dec
30 JavaScript for Artists
George Mandis (@georgemandis) Intermediate 2 0 Mon, 27 Nov
31 Closure vs. Prototype: Getting the best of both  
Di Wu (@dwu185) Intermediate 3 0 Sun, 12 Nov
32 Building Alexa Skills with Node.js
Taylor Lovett (@tlovett1) Intermediate 3 0 Sun, 12 Nov
33 Hybrid Apps from a Ember/Vue/React PWA with corber
Alexander Blom (@alexblom) Intermediate 2 0 Thu, 2 Nov
34 bring your hardware to the web!
Patrick Kettner (@patrickkettner) Intermediate 2 0 Wed, 1 Nov
35 creating magic with houdini
Patrick Kettner (@patrickkettner) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 1 Nov
36 javascript without javascript
Patrick Kettner (@patrickkettner) Intermediate 1 0 Wed, 1 Nov
37 APIs Strike back : The rise of the JSON Web Tokens  
Md. Shahbaz Alam (@mdsbzalam) Intermediate 3 0 Sat, 21 Oct
38 Reactive programming with Observables
Purnima Nagpal (@purnimanagpal) Intermediate 2 1 Fri, 20 Oct
39 Writing a Babel codemod plugin
Sarup Banskota (@sarupbanskota) Intermediate 1 0 Fri, 6 Oct